Education, Health, Karimnagar, National, Telangana

National Science Day celebrated at Kakatiya Govt College in Hanamkonda

HANAMKONDA, FEBRUARY 29, 2024: The week-long Science Fest organized at Kakatiya Government College, Hanamkonda in collaboration with Telangana Academy of Sciences, Hyderabad, as part of National Science Day celebrations concluded on Thursday.

B Ramesh, programme coordinator and Head, Department of Chemistry,  said that they had conducted various inter-collegiate competitions like Essay writing, Elocution, Painting and Quiz Competitions and a ‘talk by eminent scientist’ to create inculcate the scientific temperament, environmental consciousness and applications of science and technology in daily life and for the national development. Prizes were distributed to the winners of the competitions in the concluding ceremony chaired by the college Principal G. Raja Reddy.

Closing ceremony is graced by eminent scientist, Prof. Ch. Mohan Rao, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awardee, President Telangana Academy of Sciences (TAS) and former Director, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad. While delivering a talk, he advocated that self-reliance in energy sector is crucial for a national development and we should shift our focus from conventional energy resources to non-conventional energy resources and India has a large untapped potential in this sector. He said that research in basic sciences is very crucial in these areas. He also spoke about how innovatively the solar panels could be installed along railway tracks and on river canals in India.   In a power point presentation, he highlighted the applications of Raman Effect in daily life and in understanding the wonders of the nature.

Professor Mohan Rao advised the students to develop curiosity, probing mind and scientific temperament for self-development and nation building.  The programme was graced by TAS zonal coordinator Prof. K. Laxma Reddy, district coordinator Dr. B. Rama Raju and college faculty Dr Mallaiah, Dr Sanjeevaiah, Dr, Vijaypal Reddy, Masood Ahmed, Dr Venkatesh, Dr Rambabu,Dr. Ganesh  Dr. Ashok, Raju, Mogili and the students of various colleges actively participated in the programme.



error: Content is protected !!